Racism

An Open Letter: Dear Racist

Do I resolve with raw compassion or anger? The ultimate choice.

Melissa Bee
20 min readAug 8, 2020

--

Photo by Cathal Mac an Bheatha on Unsplash

(Disclaimer: These are feelings from the heart based on actual experiences. They are not intended to offend, but rather to enlighten so everyone can have an understanding of how detrimental racism is and how we can work through it. My goal is to bring peace through honesty.)

It has been on my mind to write to you for some time now. I figured if I start the conversation, there would be a higher possibility of finishing it. I have had the hardest time processing the hate, violence, and death — I always do. By analyzing and trying to make sense of the news, protests, and the beliefs of others, my mind has gone haywire.

The need to write this comes from a yearning to release it all. I must get this pain and love off my chest, I have to let you know, and I want to let you in.

I have learned to accept both your subtle and overt discrimination, but when I’m alone, I am consumed by your harmful actions.

The raw emotions: hurt and anger

We cannot begin to understand the impact of racism on our identities without examining our stories from all emotions. Anger cannot be resolved until we acknowledge it, and work…

--

--

Melissa Bee

Sweet Stinging 💛 Empathy, love, and gratitude is STILL life.